Standard

There is a new quilting notion I would like to purchase.  It comes in two sizes.  I will use a proportion to determine how much of a savings the larger size will be.  The wonder clips come in packaged of 10 for $5.49 or 50 for $24.99.

 

To do a price comparison I will figure out the unit cost for 50 clips at the $5.49 price for 10.

My equation: 5.49 = x             5.49 x 50 = 10x      274.5 = 10x   274.5 = 10x      $27.45

                        10      50                                                                 10        10

Answer:  I will purchase the 50 count package because the savings is $27.45 – $24.99 = $2.46 plus the 50 count package comes with a free storage container.

 

I have just started a new knitting project.  The sock pattern instructed me to knit for 8 ½ inches.  I knit 5 rows and it measures ½ inch.  How many rows will I have to knit to reach 8 ½ inches?

My equation:  5 = x             5 x 8.5 = .5x      42.5 = .5x          85 = x  

                       .5    8.5                                     .5       .5

Answer:  I will need to knit 85 rows to reach 8 ½ inches.

Leave a Reply

